Home | About | Donate

5 Years of Failure - Why UN Voluntary Measures Aren't Stopping Bad Business Behavior

5 Years of Failure - Why UN Voluntary Measures Aren't Stopping Bad Business Behavior

Anne van Schaik, Lucia Ortiz

Thursday, June 16th marks the 5th anniversary of the UN Guiding Principles on Business and Human Rights. Yet, violations of human and environmental rights continue, and access to justice remains as difficult as it ever was.

The writers assert:

"We need to have a UN treaty on business and human rights that takes precedent over special privileges given to corporations by trade deals.... without the regulations being captured or negotiated away by corporations. It is time for UN member states to rule over transnational corporations, and not be ruled by them."

Yes, that, exactly. Disempower corporations at the global level, through binding legal structures that forbid countries from negotiating away sovereignty, democracy, or humanity to these artificial creations.

General agreement. We need a massive grassroots movement, worldwide, to claim democracy and ecology as our birthright.

A number of years ago, during one of Bill Maher's earlier talk shows, his guest was Jello Biafra, formerly the lead singer of the hardest core ever punk rock band, The Dead Kennedys. During the conversation he used the term "wealth addiction" and it shocked and upset Maher and whoever the other guests were, and I don't think Biafra has been on television since and term hasn't been said in public since either.