Home | About | Donate

A Teacher's Take on Arming Teachers

A Teacher's Take on Arming Teachers

Robert Freeman

I am a high school teacher. You have to work pretty hard to come up with a stupider idea than arming teachers. Arming teachers is a ruse to distract us from the real problem, which is that it’s way too easy for disturbed people to get their hands on weapons of mass destruction.

Arming teachers is a ruse to distract us from the real problem.

Damn right we are better than this. As a former teacher, now retired, thank-you for adding another voice to what I, too, have said on this insanity of arming teachers with guns. That we have a president and members of Congress who take such an idea, seriously, is profoundly disturbing.

I would point out that in the USA 98 percent of all mass shooters are MALE. I would point out that Mental illness also exists amongst females. I would point out that Children in other Countries also watch violent movies and play violent video games. I would point out that Here in Canada, in Japan, in the UK and Germany and Australia and other countries too numerous to list, schools are “Gun free zones”. If you go into a school in Canada even the security guards do not carry guns. I would point out Children in Canada and in those other Countries also receive many of the same drugs as treatments for the same mental illnesses as do those in the USA.

As a learning experience any person deliberating on Gun Control laws, be those for or against , has to ask themselves why is it these incidents happen so much more frequently with a far greater devastating outcome in the USA than in other countries and why is it the Male that involved in such 98 percent of the time.