Home | About | Donate

'Alarming' Explosion of Toxic Pesticide Use Causing Insect Apocalypse in United States: Study

Originally published at http://www.commondreams.org/news/2019/08/07/alarming-explosion-toxic-pesticide-use-causing-insect-apocalypse-united-states-study

1 Like

Note this article is more than five months old:

2 Likes

Well, the Anthropocene is about 75 years-old, and for at least 60 of those years we have had growing awareness that we were killing the Earth. Now, it’s screaming in our faces but, to those with wealth and power, it still doesn’t matter. While it’s absolutely true that we must “ban nionics to save the bees;” it’s also absolutely certain that we won’t. So, this “alarming insect apocalypse” is just another day in the collapse.

9 Likes

As a scientist, I have always been frustrated by such articles. Yes, I wholly understand that there is reason for alarm, but to throw around numbers without context frustrates me. For example, a percent reduction sans a time frame is lacking context. We need cut-and-paste graphics, properly referenced, to carry our message forward to the crowd who crow “I don’t know, I am not a scientist.” We can’t run the risk of getting Senator Snowball’s cousins involved…

2 Likes

As are the birds:

3 Likes

The perfect graph, right in their faces. The windshield of their mode of transport. Yesterday I traveled 165 miles through open desert into a city and back and nary a bug to be found on mine.

5 Likes

How will Walter White launder his meth money now?

1 Like

The main maker of Neonics is Bayer/Monsatan, tho now they have dropped the Monsatan name tag - we can help the global boycott of their products here in the US to perhaps prod them to end ALL production and ALL distribution immediately . The EU banning neonics is the path forward and we also must pressure our government and elected reps to also ban neonics!

“Bayer/Monsanto is a top Fox News advertiser and sponsor of Sean Hannity”

Bayer products include: