Home | About | Donate

America's Political Divide: A Modest Proposal

Originally published at http://www.commondreams.org/views/2020/12/13/americas-political-divide-modest-proposal

“In Blue America, we’d have. . .” constant war, high unemployment due to all real jobs going to slaves overseas and what jobs we would still have would be gig jobs. Unionization would be criminalized, our financial sector would be allowed to do whatever they wanted, and if there were any legislature left in Blue America it would need the financial sector’s permission to pass any bill. A serious effort to slow climate change would continue to get nothing but lip service. . .

This guy really holds a Ph.D? Yikes.

4 Likes

During the early 90s I was a professor at a top ten research university and quickly learned that you get a PhD by building research atop years of group think based research and then you publish or perish. I decided that I was not PhD material and didn’t walk away from that job…I ran.

Dr. Koechlin should have dispensed with all the PhDspeak and delivered a simpler message that conveyed the same idea by quoting Rush Limpba (earlier this week) “we are trending toward secession”.

Rush and I have now agree on something for the first time. Lets undo Lincoln’s big error and HELP the red states secede. They have been nothing but a millstone around our necks for 150 years. Lincoln’s primary motivation to keep the US together was to prevent California (and to a lesser degree Oregon) from joining the confederacy and derailing manifest destiny. No worries about that this time around.

3 Likes

This writer forgot one simple thing: The red states would spend most of their time attacking the blue states!

2 Likes

Not if the blue states create a propaganda blitz that convinces the red states that Russia is out get them.

1 Like

The “Red States” would obviously include States that belonged to the Confederacy but the Civil war occurred before many of those Mid West states added.