Home | About | Donate

As a Veteran, I See ‘American Sniper’ as Dangerous, But Not for the Reasons You’d Think

As a Veteran, I See ‘American Sniper’ as Dangerous, But Not for the Reasons You’d Think

After watching the movie “American Sniper,” I called a friend named Garett Reppenhagen who was an American sniper in Iraq. He deployed with a cavalry scout unit from 2004 to 2005 and was stationed near FOB Warhorse. I asked him if he thought this movie really mattered. “Every portrayal of a historical event should be historically accurate,” he explained. ”A movie like this is a cultural symbol that influences the way people remember history and feel about war.”

Excellent article - it deconstructs the propaganda, and shows how powerful it is. I really do not understand how Jason Hall can sleep at night. His "character study" does nothing other than ramp up the hatred and violence. Shame on him, and Eastwood too.
Veterans For Peace salutes our brothers and sisters in IVAW.

Since they won't just let me say I agree, I agree.

The wide popularity of this ridiculous movie is part of the dumbing down of America, which plays right into the hands of the Eternal War Axis that now runs our nation and several others. The absurd justifications for our unnecessary war in Iraq were identical to those offered for our unnecessary war in Vietnam -- appeals to dim-witted patriotism and juvenile machismo. The Eternal War Axis's propaganda experts know that most Americans don't bother to learn anything about the world, especially the hard facts about the unnecessary wars America has waged, so conning the public into supporting a new for-profit adventure abroad is always very easy. Will the Venezuelans be next to be described as evil terrorists plotting ways to storm the beaches of Miami and Santa Monica? Don't be surprised, as long as there's big money to be made from war and America's money-printing presses are running 24/7 to pay for it.