Home | About | Donate

Back to the Future: Universalizing Resistance, Democratizing Power

Back to the Future: Universalizing Resistance, Democratizing Power

Laura Bonham

Every year to celebrate Independence Day, I watch the film 1776, based on the hit Broadway play. It is centered on the writing of the Declaration of Independence. If you know your history, it effectively pokes fun at our founding myth. It also reminds me of the conditions under which these men lived and makes me truly grateful for screened windows, electric fans, and ballpoint pens.

The Media is Mightier Than War ©

Greetings from South Florida. I am a Marine Vietnam Veteran for Peace and former Community Organizer trained by Saul Alinsky’s executive team in the mid-70s after returning from my second tour in Vietnam as a diplomatic courier posted in then-Saigon.

My political and moral perspectives were fundamentally changed after the slaughter of the Kent State students, release of The Pentagon Papers, findings of the Church Committee and the Fulbright Hearings … etc.

Since 2003, I have been actively involved in protesting US Folly Policy and continue to read numerous progressive sites to get a better understanding of “The Death of the Republic.”

Chris Hedges, Andrew Bacevich and the other writers/analysts do an incredible job of investigating and telling the Facts to the progressive community, which needs to be broadened exponentially. One way is to immediately integrate and internationalize all progressive sites exactly like www.bbc.com! This will immediately provide the multi-lingual platforms to reach the ethnic enclaves in the U.S. and beyond.