Home | About | Donate

Beware of Another Reichstag Fire

Beware of Another Reichstag Fire

Helene Sinnreich

As various commentators compare President Donald Trump to Adolf Hitler, a flurry of responses has claimed that this is an inappropriate comparison because the Nazi regime murdered millions of men, women and children. It is important to remember, however, that when Hitler came to power in 1933, he did not begin with murder.

Although I am no holocaust scholar, I studied Bernays and Goebbels extensively in college. Since then the GOP has increasingly embraced the tactics launched by these master propagandists, the Democrats to a lesser degree. Both Bernays and Goebbels would be proud to see how Trump has frighteningly refined their pioneering work more than any other Murkin ever has.

Both sides of the Congress have been preparing the way for a demagogue for several years with the anti-terrorism laws, the NSA spy apparatus, the Civil Asset Forfeiture laws, and the new Ministry of Truth law that Obama signed off as a parting gift to the nation just before he left office. All of these laws are unconstitutional . Now all that remains is the for right man at the right time to step into the Oval Office and declare a false state of emergency and impose martial law all across the land. There's no doubt in my mind that Donald Trump is that man.

For most scholars, it is not difficult to see how, in the current climate, with a president whose activities closely parallel those of historic authoritarian leaders, a single crisis might be used to solidify authoritarian power. - Helene Sinnreich

Thank you, Helene.