Home | About | Donate

Big Oil Knew. Big Oil Lied. And Planet Earth Got Fried

Big Oil Knew. Big Oil Lied. And Planet Earth Got Fried.

Jon Queally, staff writer

They knew. They lied. And the planet and its people are now paying the ultimate price.

It's no secret that the fossil fuel industry—the set of companies and corporate interests which profit most from the burning of coal, oil, and gas—have been the largest purveyors and funders of climate change denialism in the world.

The analogy with Big Tobacco is apt. You have to wonder about the motivations of the big corpse (No, it's not a spelling error.) Death wish? Fermi Paradox?

I'm picturing Sen. Mitch McConnell in a two handed Nixon-esque victory pose shaking his jowls and stating "I am not a scientist."

and with the TPP and the Atlantic equivalent , the corpse s (zombie economics?) will be able to sue the nations that create safety regulations / precautions protecting the environment and population of the world , because it will be affecting their bottom line/ future profits ??? talk about playing futures .......Gezzzzz

It is just a total focus on making the biggest profit possible without regard to consequences - psychopathic thinking. Same with big pharma.

Maybe his statement should be "I am not a human being!"

” [75] years ago the tyranny was Nazism. Today it is pursuit of profit without moral compass or responsibility”.
Polly Higgins

Profit is the motivation. To compare this radical evil with Nazism is appropriate but it is actually worse. As despicable as the Nazi's were, they had a tribe. The radical evil of today has no tribe and promises no future, not on Planet Auschwitz. McConnell and Inhofe and the majority of the political/corporate leadership (sic) are the guards herding the rest of us onto trains and saying Arbeit Macht Frei all the way to the death chambers.
Radical evil is real. It is here now and, in fact, has been for a long time.
Po