Home | About | Donate

Breaking Through Power: It's Easier Than We Think

Breaking Through Power: It's Easier Than We Think

Ralph Nader

When I was a student at Princeton University I learned from my anthropology studies that the concentration of power in the hands of the few is common to all cultures, societies, nations, tribes, cities, towns, and villages. Even where the thirst for self-governance and democracy is strong (as was the case in New England towns before the American Revolution against King George III) wealthy Tories were there too. In Central and Western Massachusetts, the farmers used the term “the River Gods” to describe the rich merchants using the Connecticut River as a profitable trading route.

One of the most effective ways to screw with the plutocrats and the oligarchy is to demonstrate in large numbers. Physically show up.
Like on November 8th to vote. Or to vote early. Or mail a ballot in.
The oligarchy doesn't cotton to large groups forming. It unnerves them.

Take the time and trouble to vote. Preferably for Jill Stein to keep Hillary's total vote under 50%. Vote against every Republican incumbent who is on the ballot.
Do it today because 1 million people have already voted in Florida.

From The Planetary Report:

PARTISAN POLITICS AND SPACE (or student debt, healthcare, the MIC, etc.)

"Politics being what it is, I believe each party would use space exploration as a weapon. If proposed by Republicans, Democrats would claim it will use resources that could be used for social programs. If proposed by Democrats, the Republicans would claim that it will raise the debt. Therefore, I believe that the use of quiet support and a clear path would be the best approach."
Vince Laurel, Mickleton, NJ

Instead of being bounced around between two political parties, forever entangled, I suggest that we take Vince's advice and ignore them going about our way building a better, safer, healthier society unencumbered by their political ambitions.