Home | About | Donate

Citing Big Ag Research, EU Set to Approve Toxic Weedkiller

Citing Big Ag Research, EU Set to Approve Toxic Weedkiller

Lauren McCauley, staff writer

European regulators—under the influence of industry-backed research—are on the cusp of re-approving the use of the Roundup chemical glysophate, reporting Wednesday revealed, despite the fact that the World Health Organization recently deemed the widely-used herbicide a probable carcinogen.

The evil monsanto will destroy all!

Just another example of global corporate empire calling the shots. Sickening, really.

What I do not understand his how a chemist or research scientist can work for such a company. As a scientist myself, it has always been an unspoken tenet to "do no harm". It is noble to want to feed people but mixed with capitalism and all of its baggage, harm is done to water supplies, heirloom crops, soil integrity, wildlife, etc. I hope I don't go bald scratching my head...

Don't feel bad. Anyone or anything can be bought. Our golden calf society has elevated faux science to stratospheric levels. I used to think bankers and politicians were the worst pimps and prostitutes in society. Sadly many science professionals have chosen their path.

Strikes me that this is another very good example of why any member state of the EU would want to make a speedy exist from the EU.

It is totally irresponsible for government agencies to use industry-produced "research" for the purposes of making any regulatory decisions. Companies seeking approval for some whiz-bang product should pay the government to conduct the necessary safety testing, just as I pay the local government taxes to provide policing for my house.