Home | About | Donate

Cleaning Up After Pundits

Cleaning Up After Pundits

Jim Hightower

Being a muckracking political writer often makes me feel like a custodian in a horse barn, constantly shoveling manure. It's a messy, stinky job — but on the bright side, the stuff is plentiful, so the work is steady. Indeed, I'm now a certified Equine Excrement Engineer, having developed a narrow, but important, professional specialty: cleaning off the horsestuff that careless politicos and sloppy media types keep dumping on the word "populist."

Thanks for this. Sanders aside, what we've gotten from the right and from LC dems is cynical false populism which is a primary tool of fascism. It is vital to make the distinction.

So the good news is that Obama and Hillary aren't quite fascists because they're almost populists?
The bad news is that Trump and the rest of the Republicans are unadulterated Fascists which is why Hillary and Obama look less like the actual devil.
Political plutocrats talk a good game, but they never show up to play.

I guess the first place to start is with a definition of populism. So, what does Wikipedia have to say on this?

"Populism is a political ideology that holds that virtuous citizens are mistreated by a small circle of elites, who can be overthrown if the people recognize the danger and work together. Populism depicts elites as trampling on the rights, values, and voice of the legitimate people."

Wikipedia claims George Wallace was a populist.
"George Wallace, four-term Governor of Alabama, led a populist movement that carried five states and won 13.5% of the popular vote in the 1968 presidential election."

If George Wallace led a populist movement then I guess so does Donald Trump.

In the end it doesn't matter whether Trump is leading a populist movement or not. Whatever his movement is called it is characterized by hate, particularly against non-whites, and especially if they are not US citizens.