Home | About | Donate

Congresswoman Calls for Drug-Testing the One Percent, Not the Poor

Drug testing the one percent would be a practice in futility as their massive wealth gives them the power to avoid any and all prosecution. Drug testing the poor and then withholding life-sustaining subsidies is inhumane...use the funds wasted on drug testing to pay for rehabilitation programs for the afflicted. Be pro-active rather than reactive.

Go Gwen Moore!!! This is actually a practical and practiceable measure. Undoubtedly, most one-percenters would go for the standard deduction rather than bother getting the drug test. I love it!

I've been saying for a few DECADES, all political jobs need to be drug tested. How is it that they can vote that others get drug tested but THEY don't have to pee in a cup?

Don't many people have to piss for corporations to obtain and later keep jobs? Politicians should have the same treatment. Enough said.

Absolutely! Especially considering the havoc that the uber-rich can and have wrought in recent times; with the financial meltdown of 2008 as the most recent prime exhibit.

Now THIS is a woman I would vote for!

Gwen Moore: YOU GO, GIRL!

You are damned right on this, Congresswoman. I am sick to hell of the double-standards in our society, where the poor are targeted/blamed and the rich get away with murder. What is good for the goose is good for the gander, after all. If those receiving benefits are expected to pass drug tests, then why not the heads of corporations that get any federal, state or local money (for instance)?

But the obvious point is to raise the issue in an ironic way, and publicly shame the shameful and shameless idiots who keep pushing these ugly stigmatizing and counter-productive assaults on the poor. And specifically build opposition to Paul Ryan's ugly budget. Right on Gwen Moore.

No, her point is to build opposition to Paul Ryan's ugly budget.