Home | About | Donate

Dem Debate on Foreign Leaves More Questions Than Answers

Dem Debate on Foreign Leaves More Questions Than Answers

Juan Cole

Foreign policy came up a bit in the Democratic Party debate.

Excellent points by Juan Cole, as usual. Why don't we see this and many other columns by him in the Washington Post, New York Times and other Establishment outposts? You don't need to be a conspiracy theorist to guess the answer to that: Sometimes too much truth is just too hard for the Establishment to take -- or permit others to learn. In any case, I often am appalled at how ignorant some of our major politicians and candidates are about foreign policy, and I'm by no means an expert myself. It's incredible that Clinton and Sanders and the others would buy into the right-wing myth that a substantial force of "moderates" is fighting against Assad in Syria. That's strictly a Fox News fantasy, but it keeps resurfacing. Even a layman can learn the truth quickly by browsing the works of Cole and other real experts on the Mideast, but our politicians apparently don't bother to do that. I suspect that they take the word of the "experts" serving as national security advisors and assistants, who usually come from the many war-industry-funded think tanks in D.C. Many of those advisers apparently try to outdo each other in foaming at the mouth like a bunch of latter-day Dick Cheney aides circa 2003. The Republicans are professional knuckle-draggers, but our Democratic officials and candidates need to wise up and work with Russia and Iran instead of trying to reignite the Cold War. We can't afford that stuff anymore.

Readers might want to check out Jill Stein's comments aired on today's Democracy Now Program.