Home | About | Donate

Democracy 'Waking Up' with National Movement to Reform Campaign Finance

Democracy 'Waking Up' with National Movement to Reform Campaign Finance

Nadia Prupis, staff writer

As the 2016 election cycle shapes up to be the most expensive in history, communities throughout the country are winning "important victories" in the fight against big money, according to a new report released Monday by a coalition of progressive groups.

I was first old enough to understand the urgent call for campaign finance reform when I was a student, back in the late 1960s, early 1970s. It became a particular urgent issue every election year since. The problem is, it actually IS a legitimate, increasingly urgent issue, and we're still at square one. At the least, we would need to take control of campaigns, themselves, giving candidates adequate and equal air time, and put dramatic limits on campaign fund raising. I think the reason there has been virtually no change through the decades is that campaigns can be wildly profitable. It's always a gamble, but even a failed campaign can fill the pockets of the few.

Meaningful change will come about from the root; from the bottom up, and it will be clothed in unity and equality--not fear, not profit.

This reminds me to strongly recommend everyone to see the movie: "Where to invade next", the release of which is slated to coincide with the New Hampshire primaries, tomorrow, Feb. 9.
See the trailer here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?...

thanks. I'll give it a look. regards-

Be an agent of change. Join the Bernie superpack.

This is what it's always been -- simple bribery.

For cripes sake, Teddy Roosevelt was talking about the need even back then
to get corporations out of our elections.