Home | About | Donate

Do Americans “Throw Money” At Their Schools? A Fair Funding Primer

Do Americans “Throw Money” At Their Schools? A Fair Funding Primer

Steven Singer

“Don’t throw money at schools.”

It’s a common rejoinder when lobbying for an increase in public education budgets.

The one percent are terrified that some among the ninety-nine percent are going to out think them of their money. They will pay for whatever public relations blocks equality.

As a contractor I have worked with organizations private and public, including schools. During the past three decades I have noticed that most big organizations, including schools, keep getting more bureaucratic,resulting in more and more money being spent on "managers", expensive consultants, and even more expensive software that often creates more problems than it solves. Concurrent with the growth of bureaucracy. organizations are spending less and less money on the folks working on the front lines (teachers, trades people, etc.). Some but not all of the added bureaucracy is created by misguided regulations, standardized testing in the case of schools.

Food for thought
OK - if we're talking about money it is no longer possible to treat the word as if it is the economic equivalent of the Big Bang theory - give me one unaccounted for miracle and I'll give a technology..).

Looking at what Iceland did with the bankers, the fact that 97% of money is NOT generated by the government, but by the PRIVATE BANKS through fractional reserve banking ( 1$ loan = 10x new $ on the books) = political $, hence the anti-social policies of neocons/liberals.

Keiser Report 2nd half - min 12:45 - takes a look:
http://rt.com/shows/keiser-report/273097-episode-max-keiser-782/

This post was flagged by the community and is temporarily hidden.

Interesting that in all of your 300 words (guessing) of vitriol, you never touched the author's main point about the comparisons - that they fail to control for poverty.