Home | About | Donate

Donald Trump’s America

Donald Trump’s America

Nate Terani

Understand this: I’m an American veteran. I’m also a Muslim-American in a country in which, in these years, that hasn’t exactly been the happiest category to fall into. Now, let me tell you a little story.

Recently, I had an ominous dream. It was noon on a grey, cold January 20th, 2020, and Donald Trump was being sworn in for his second term as president. Massive inaugural crowds cheered him exuberantly as a gentle snow fell upon a sea of MAGA red-hats and TRUMP banners waving in front of the Capitol.

It already happened. US Citizens with regularity would attack the villages of the First nations peoples and burn them down. They would destroy their food supply. They even had States that had laws on the books that said things like “If a person riding a wagon sees an Indian on Horseback they can shoot that Indian”.

Vigilante groups would with regularity arm up and raid a nearby village. When they slaughtered the inhabitants they did things like cut of the womens breasts to keep as souvenirs. The slaughter was of such magnitude something like 94 percent of all of the First nations peoples that lived in the lower 48 were killed or exterminated by the year 1900 with Hollywood soon pumping movies about the Herosim of those Settlers and the US Cavalry.

The remainder were rounded up and locked up on reservations.

Then there was the Black experience.

None of this is new and it not “Trumps America”. It just another group being singled out for the hate . The road chosen was one chosen 241 years ago . It was the wagonwheel rut of racism and militarism something ex veterans should know about.