Home | About | Donate

Expanding the Circle of Honor on Veterans Day

Expanding the Circle of Honor on Veterans Day

Patrick D. Jones

Civil rights veterans have undoubtedly played a critical role in defining and defending our liberty and expanding American democracy, often at tremendous sacrifice.

This is an interesting, though, I believe, misguided idea. I was a young college teacher during the Vietnam War. I organized against the war; and often had the support of vets on my campus. I was fired (actually told that leaving was my best option since my career was over, even it I could not be fired) for my activities following the events at Kent State and Jackson State. I had devoted my life to becoming a teacher, worked my way through college and graduate school in true poverty. But… for all the trauma that I experienced in the struggles for an honest accounting of that war and the racism and economic elitism it represented, it was nothing compared to the trauma of the vets I knew and taught. My experience was not that of a black person frighting against racism on home ground – I fully accept that to be as life threatening and challenging as being in a war, but it seems to me to be wrong to confuse military service, social justice service and struggles for racial equality.

To the peace- and justice-mongers everywhere: thank you for your service.

What exactly do you mean by this sentence? I’m not sure how to interpret it.

Other than kicking Saddam out of Kuwait (which took only a few days), we haven’t been in a primarily just war since WWII.

I’m a Vietnam Era enlisted vet (formerly stationed in Korea; but, stupid enough to have volunteered for Nam); and, I’m tired of all of this military service hoopla, primarily designed to keep MIC coffers overflowing with our hard-earned tax dollars.