Home | About | Donate

I’m an Expat US Scientist – and I’m Returning to Trump’s America to Stand up For Science

I’m an Expat US Scientist – and I’m Returning to Trump’s America to Stand up For Science

Elizabeth Madin

Donald Trump’s presidency has not been good for science or scientists. Since Trump took office 15 months ago, his administration has proposed to terminate many federally funded research programs and slash funding for others. Trump’s appointees are working to roll back environmental regulations and conservation policies.

I applaud Dr. Madin’s decision. The more scientists who are willing to speak out against Trump’s “war on science” the better. This is the first experience in the US with an authoritarian president, who appears to favor fascism, and speaking out the truth about scientific facts is vital. Supporting the Union of Concerned Scientists is one small step that people can do to protect science from being undermined by Trump. The right wing has especially targeted Penn State climate scientist Michael Mann and he has fought back with a lot of success. People can also support the March for Science which is working to protect science as well. Trump has focused on attacking science and the free press, two sources of objective facts that our democracy depends on. Without science and a free press there can be no democracy which is a critical goal of the right wing extremists in their strategy to achieve their objectives.

Goebbels pioneering work included a wide range of contrived enemies of which people were but one of many categories.

To keep his base engaged, new enemies will continue to be added to Trump’s ever growing enemy list. Enemies on Trump’s list include facts and evidence. His base therefore does not simply ignore facts and evidence, they aggressively attack them per Trump and faux news network commands.