Home | About | Donate

I'm a Lawyer. I've Been to Trial. And I Believe Christine Blasey Ford.

I'm a Lawyer. I've Been to Trial. And I Believe Christine Blasey Ford.

Mitchell Zimmerman

I’ve been an attorney for nearly 40 years. Good lawyers identify with their clients, but they also have be able to step back and say: How would my client’s claims look to an ordinary person without an ax to grind — say a juror?

"When testimony conflicts, what’s more useful is considering the surrounding circumstances. In this case, the circumstances all favor Ford’s account."

3 Likes

Bill Maher hit on something last night that I’ve been yelling about for a day: this entirely disingenuous line of crap from Republicans and other idiots who say, “She was credible, but so was he.” NO! If she was indeed credible (and she was), then, by definition, you must believe that Kavanaugh attempted to rape her. If she’s credible, then it’s done, and he’s out. On the other hand, if he was credible (and he was not), then you must believe that she is lying. They can’t both be credible, if the word credible means anything at all. Saying “both were credible,” then voting for the alleged rapist, isn’t fooling anyone except perhaps yourself.

7 Likes

I wonder what real lawyers think about this SCOTUS wannabe’s lying. Attorneys have been disciplined, disbarred, fined and/or jailed for suborning perjury…encouraging or allowing others to lie. What then of an attorney who seeks to be the ultimate of other attorneys arguments proven to be a liar himself?

2 Likes

The more pertinent question would be “is it enough” since as others have mentioned on CD and I saw in one official Maryland document online (but IANAL), there is no statute of limitations for attempted rape in this state. Seeing a sitting judge (whether where he is or on the Supreme Court) be brought to trial in MD would be quite a feat - probably impossible, but I’d still love to see it.