Home | About | Donate

It's Outrageous That I'm Facing 45 Years in Prison for Filming a Climate Protest

It's Outrageous That I'm Facing 45 Years in Prison for Filming a Climate Protest

Deia Schlosberg

My name is Deia Schlosberg and I am an independent filmmaker and climate reporter. I was arrested while filming an act of nonviolent civil disobedience in North Dakota and I'm currently facing felony charges that I believe are unjust.

Looks like Deia has been thrown into the same category as Assange, Snowden and the other whistle blowers whom "the most transparent administration in history" is jailing or will jail when the opportunity arises.

"... I am asking you (the Press) to help in the tremendous task of Informing and Alerting the American People.

For I have complete confidence in the Response and Dedication of our Citizens whenever they are fully informed."

JFK
April 27, 1961

Are these federal charges? It seems like they're charges brought by North Dakota.

I think it's safe to say everyone here is with you, Deia, so there's no need to hype it all. The voice that's already had your story told here — and gives you this very venue — is exactly why you do not "face 45 years in prison." Your voice annoying them from behind bars is the last thing fossil fuels needs as the industry fades away.

I'm not criticizing; I wish I had the nerve and resources to take such action. But it would help if, especially in our own sites, we could deal in facts. You say you were "doing my job," but not who was paying you. You don't say how you knew to be there to film the unannounced action. Let's be honest, what your real job was that day was not making a movie, but being part of that action. That's fine. That's honorable. But it's not the same as "reporting."