Home | About | Donate

Lack of Paid Sick Days and Large Numbers of Uninsured Increase Risks of Spreading the Coronavirus

Originally published at http://www.commondreams.org/views/2020/02/29/lack-paid-sick-days-and-large-numbers-uninsured-increase-risks-spreading

2 Likes

My dog is a total pain in the ass, really, but I love her so. What “conservative” mindset would tell me to cost-effectively heal her? These fucktards would send my heart so far from my reach that my dear dear dog would be long gone. I’ll just Molly Ivins them. That will fix 'em good!

There are also jobs that demand you show up regardless of health. I was a professional cook my whole career. I almost always had to show up or face firing. In fact I did lose a job because of an exceedingly nasty flu in ‘79. My 5+ year job vanished because I was too sick to even move. A friend watched me for several days in fact. So even though I was almost on my deathbed I was let go. Tell that to the idiots on TV that can’t comprehend what it’s like to have precarious job status. Healthcare? Ha! I had one job with healthcare insurance kept for 13 years. That’s over a 35 year career. I’m guessing things haven’t changed all that much since then. Paid sick days? Again, that same one job. miss work, miss some pay. Yet the billionaires can’t even comprehend what it’s like to be exploited the way we workers are/were. Flu is spread in restaurants because workers go in and work sick. This new virus just helps bring this nastiness out in the open more than normal. Besides the regular ol’ flu has killed about 30,000 people here in America already this season. Is this mentioned? No! One C. virus death? Close the fucking borders.

5 Likes