Home | About | Donate

Making Native Americans Strangers in Their Own Land

Making Native Americans Strangers in Their Own Land

Aviva Chomsky

Amid the barrage of racist, anti-immigrant, and other attacks launched by President Trump and his administration in recent months, a series of little noted steps have threatened Native American land rights and sovereignty.

4 Likes

Aviva Chomsky has written a courageous article, challenging fashionable majoritarian “wisdom” about the role played by DNA and genes. I worked as a psychiatrist and observed how concretely (and self-servingly) the field viewed information (pseudoscientific, in my opionion) implying that psychosocially aberrant ideas and behaviors are derived from genetic defects. Actually, what I observed is that psychiatrists systematically took individuals with minority opinions, controversial lifestyles, and independent thinking processes, and forced them to take drugs and to accept labels that implied that they were diseased. This is really a form of bigotry, and in this case, the targeted minority group is not identifiably racial, religious, national, or cultural, but rather a subset of humanity that challenges conventional thinking processes and thereby makes ruling elites feel uncomfortable and threatened.

In Nazi Germany, regarding Jews, and in the USA, regarding black people, the logic is the same: These people have a genetic defect which produces wrong thinking and makes them dangerous, and therefore we rulers have a right and an obligation to deprive them of their social standing and their property, and even their liberty and their lives. This genetic-defect argument has been applied, as Aviva Chomsky illustrates, to the Native American people, who (among other minorities) are now under assault by the Trump administration and their white nationalist cohorts and henchmen.