Home | About | Donate

'Massive Floating Time Bomb': Warnings of Ecological, Humanitarian Disaster as Tanker Risks Dumping Four Times More Oil Than Exxon Valdez

Originally published at http://www.commondreams.org/news/2020/07/16/massive-floating-time-bomb-warnings-ecological-humanitarian-disaster-tanker-risks

5 Likes

“If the SAFER leaks, potentially spilling four times more oil into the Red Sea than the Exxon Valdez oil spill,” Andersen said, “ecosystems and fisheries would be damaged for an extended period into the future.”

True, very, very true. As an Alaskan resident I have witnessed first hand the devastation of the Exxon Valdez’s 1989 oil spill on the beaches of Prince William Sound and what a lot of people ( because it is never reported) are not aware of is that devastation is still being felt today. And will be extended well into the future!

10 Likes

Bring in 4 smaller tankers and offload - this ain’t rocket science - just a supremely concise example of how sick the industry is. So sick it does not recognize the endangerment of planetary health.

One more reason to leave the fossil fuel industry for a living future

Simplify, reduce, reuse, recycle, Co-Ops, public banking, accountability, tax corporations again!!!

7 Likes

It also took years for Exxon to pay out for damages done to the fishing industry and only paid out a small fraction of what was originally requested in the litigation process. Grifters ,scammers and scumbags all the way. Peace

5 Likes

Well said!

3 Likes

The UN has apparently broached this crisis before - with also apparently zero action. the UN is long on talk and short (very) on action - and that includes every other nation and government in a position to do something about this impending massive disaster.- a global pollution!

The fix is clear; get the goddamned oil off into something - somewhere safe whatever it takes and whoever’s feathers are ruffled!