Home | About | Donate

Negotiating with Crazy: The Fine Art of Disconnection

Negotiating with Crazy: The Fine Art of Disconnection

Tom Valovic

As a former magazine editor, I'm a news and politics junkie. That means I scoop up anything and everything I can on the state of the world, and especially US politics given our unusual predicament as American citizens now living in “cloud cuckoo land”, to invoke the great British expression. That being the case, I surprised myself last year when I moved to a smaller place after a divorce and didn’t replace my television set.

Progressives confuse “crazy” and “insanity” with cunning and devious at our own peril.

We are not witnessing politics run amok. We ARE witnessing a well planned and executed strategy to create a neofeudal paradise for the 1% at the expense of the 99% that has been moving forward full throttle at least since Saint Ron’s revolution.

Excellent, clear headed, clear visioned article.

I’ve largely stopped watching TV news since the election but I don’t know if that matters or not. I think the main thing to do is organize. Get involved with groups such as Indivisible, Organizing for Action, People Power (ACLU), Sierra Club, or whatever. Our actions must be coordinated with large numbers of other people to have an effect. And unite. This is no time to quibble about litmus tests for being a progressive. The Trump administration isn’t that crazy but is based on a very different set of values. They are not American values but they are common in many countries and apparently accepted by many Americans on the right. We need to support American values from the Declaration of Independence and the Constitution.

Exactly, they’d LOVE to be thought of as merely Crazy and Insane, as it would obscure their Willfulness, and Forethought.