Home | About | Donate

North Korea Ready for Direct Talks With U.S., Says Russian Foreign Minister

North Korea Ready for Direct Talks With U.S., Says Russian Foreign Minister

Jessica Corbett, staff writer

"We know that North Korea wants first of all to speak with the United States about its security guarantees," says Sergey Lavrov. "We are ready to support it. We are ready to help promote such talks."

Russian Foreign Minister Sergey Lavrov and U.S. Secretary of State Rex Tillerson

Perhaps this is the grand distraction, the curtain behind which we’re not suppose to look.

To let loose the dogs of war, once more, would open all sorts of wicked possibilities for the wizard of orange . . . just think of all they could justify when we’re engaged in the ultimate Orwellian struggle with Eastasia.

I’m not an expert on Korea, but I have some things to say that are difficult and should not be avoided. Neither am I a rabid cold-warrior who is ultra paranoid of everything Russian. But some things just don’t add up; here goes.

It is no secret that all of the missiles being fired off by the DPRK are of Soviet (I believe that designation is still correct) design if not actually manufactured in Russia. I could be dead wrong, but there will have to be some pretty strong evidence to prove that NK designed, manufactured and assembled those missiles. And that leads one to speculate on just what kind of game the Russians are playing. Perhaps many here haven’t seen the news stories about the NK military aboard flimsy, hardly sea-worthy fishing boats, washing up on Japanese shores? Those little wooden boats contain the dead skeletons of NK military or the dying-of-starvation live ones. It is hard to reconcile a regime that would send its troops out upon the ocean in nothing more than wooden skiffs in order to feed its people (or allegedly to generate income for the regime,) with a nuclear power capable of designing, manufacturing, and assembling ICBM’s.