Home | About | Donate

Ohio Stumbles, With a Team Trump Nudge, Toward Nuclear and Coal

Originally published at http://www.commondreams.org/views/2019/05/31/ohio-stumbles-team-trump-nudge-toward-nuclear-and-coal

1 Like

This is another “who’s palms are getting greased” situation I’m pretty sure.
This one is like, you have potholes on your street that aren’t getting fixed, yet you get to publicly fund someone else’s knew road.

1 Like

As an Ohio resident, I can testify that most of this evil is from the obscene gerrymandering here that has dealt to what is possibly a majority Dem state a profoundly Republican legislature and some extremely right wing politics. That, plus the vicious trick that the pro-nuke forces did with public relations for this legislation: we all received multiple slick mailings “convincing” many of us that their act was a “clean air” act supporting clean energy. Nowhere did the ads tell voters that wind and solar (which are a burgeoning economic force in Ohio) would be heavily compromised if the act was passed. So concerned voters called legislators and asked them to support the “clean air act,” thinking they were doing the right thing for the environment and green energy industries when actually they were asking legislators to vote against those things. Really dirty tricks, but nothing new for the fossil fuel industry.

But the heavily gerrymandered legislature was the main cause. And now our projected redesigned mapping has been postponed until after SCOTUS rules on other states’ cases. Which I don’t understand, since Ohio has its own unique gerrymandering and shouldn’t have to be put up against other precedents!

2 Likes

What do you know about Ohio congressman and presidential candidate Tim Ryan on this and other related issues? My gut instinct tells me he may make it to the debates. I’ve been looking for material on his record, but haven’t found much.