Home | About | Donate

Open Letter From College Professors Urges Educators Worldwide to Cancel Class, Join Global Climate Strike

Originally published at http://www.commondreams.org/news/2019/08/30/open-letter-college-professors-urges-educators-worldwide-cancel-class-join-global

2 Likes

when I was a teacher I wouldn’t have minded a “strike” - aka a day off to demonstrate for my favorite cause - and the students wouldn’t have minded either. But I’d be much more impressed if by “strike” they meant for the day no driving, no eating meat, no no flying, AC, no procreation, and maybe even no electricity use. Now that would be strike!

4 Likes

Sure wish this mind-set had been active 10 20 30 years ago, we might have had a chance.

2 Likes

Nothing is more important that responding to the cause of children
calling for us –

Had parents begun to join the Vietnam War protesters they would have
understood more, earlier – and the movement may have had more
immediate success.

Today, we adults need to follow the children –

5 Likes

These strikes are a good beginning and if the mind set of those in power does not change we up it to total, non cooperation. Love to Greta and all our youth!

2 Likes

yes, ratchet up the pressure.

1 Like

So you speak to me of sadness
And the coming of the winter
Fear that is within you now

It seems to never end
And the dreams that have escaped you
And the hope that you’ve forgotten
You tell me that you need me now
You want to be my friend
And you wonder where we’re going

Where’s the rhyme and where’s the reason
And it’s you cannot accept
It is here we must begin
To seek the wisdom of the children

And the graceful way of flowers in the wind
For the children and the flowers
Are my sisters and my brothers
Their laughter and their loveliness
Could clear a cloudy day
Like the music of the mountains
And the colours of the rainbow
They’re a promise of the future

And a blessing for today
Though the cities start to crumble