Home | About | Donate

People's Climate: On Changing Directions Before It’s Too Late

People's Climate: On Changing Directions Before It’s Too Late

Bhikkhu Bodhi

Suppose I was a bus driver driving a busload of people along an unfamiliar route and at a certain point my GPS device showed me that I was heading toward a precipice. I would not assume that the device is mistaken or argue that the accuracy of such devices is a matter of debate. As I got close to the edge of the abyss, I would not jiggle the steering wheel, much less step on the gas pedal. Rather, I would turn away and head in a different direction.

Tanha in the Kalpas. The Fire Sermon Continues to burn.

Sometimes I do not know how to respond to an article like this, for I was agitating
27 years ago for mass transit running on solar power. And what came instead?
SUVs and unnecessary pickup trucks and increased pollution and congestion.

A clear minority of people voted in the SuperCreep in Chief. "We" didn't "let" them do it, they just did it. But, yes, craving for power, status, wealth, military action are the drivers.