Home | About | Donate

Seeeking 'The End': From the Fall of Saigon to Our Fallen Empire

Seeeking 'The End': From the Fall of Saigon to Our Fallen Empire

Nick Turse

“It just started out as a simple goodbye song,” James Douglas Morrison told reporter Jerry Hopkins. “Probably just to a girl, but I could see how it could be goodbye to a kind of childhood... I think it's sufficiently complex and universal in its imagery that it could be almost anything you want it to be.”

As a Vietnam veteran, I can assure you that it's been very depressing to watch the U.S. government make the same mistakes in several other unnecessary wars since. At first I thought it was due to typical bureaucratic bungling, but then I realized what was really happening -- America was changing into a nation that depended on military aggression to sustain itself. That is, the wealthy and powerful elite had learned that war was an easy way to accumulate more wealth and control more territory, so that's what it did -- and is doing. And the past doesn't matter. When the U.S. gets defeated in one of these for-profit adventures such as Iraq or Afghanistan, the top 1 percent just pushes the "delete" button and the media establishment "forgets" all about that defeat, merely referring to it as an unfortunate little chapter in U.S. history. Then the establishment media begin repeating the neocon mantras for the next war -- the enemy is coming, the enemy is coming --and the process begins all over again. I am now convinced that none of this will change until the top 1 percent itself is replaced by a more moral and responsible political arrangement.

It turned out that the West wasn’t the best, that all those Pentagon computers and statistical analyses and bombs and artillery shells and napalm and tanks and airplanes and helicopters and rifles and Swift boats

In this list of weaponry, Turse has disclosed the real reason that America keeps making wars wherever it can.