Home | About | Donate

Speaking for Millions Poised to Lose Healthcare, Doctor Confronts Trump in Tennessee

Speaking for Millions Poised to Lose Healthcare, Doctor Confronts Trump in Tennessee

Lauren McCauley, staff writer

Giving a voice to the thousands who protested outside President Donald Trump's Wednesday evening appearance in Nashville—and the millions more poised to lose their healthcare—Dr. Carol Paris, head of a national organization of physicians dedicated to promoting healthcare for all, directly confronted the president and demanded he do better by the American people.

Dr. Carol Paris:"People are dying I'm a physician I cannot sit by and not speak up".

Folks, the good Dr. is correct, we must not allow ourselves to allow people to die because we failed to speak up.

We need to adopt universal health care. There are only 2 ways: a) nationalization (like UK) or b) singlepayer (like Canada or Australia) which (IMO) is probably the easiest route for the #USA (though I'd be fine with either).

We also need to force Congress to pass a singlepayer bill like HR676 - unless somebody thinks Bernie's "brand new Congress" is going to happen in the next round or two. (Yeah, let's go for it, and I'll certainly do my part, but i'm not holding my breath.) So, the way you force them is with an industry boycott that's designed in a relatively fail-safe way for participants (since health insurance in the U.S. clearly isn't like boycotting Ivanka's handbags - it can be a lot more dangerous!)

To do that, it looks like we'd need a LEGAL TRUST set up where policy holders could submit contingent pledges that the trust could cancel their insurance IF and ONLY IF "X" number of pledges and cancellations are collected; "X" being the mathematically determined "tipping point" or "critical mass" at which the industries are basically staked through the heart and brought down.