Home | About | Donate

Standardized Tests are a Form of Racial Profiling

Standardized Tests are a Form of Racial Profiling

Christine Brigid Malsbary

Several days before writing this blog post, I visited a 12th grade class that I have been following since the beginning of their 11th grade year. I am a researcher and I study how education policy affects teachers and students in their daily lives. The youth I work with are all immigrants, students of color, and learning English as a second language. I sat next to student I didn’t recognize and asked the teacher who he was.

I agree with the consequences of standardized testing but am troubled by the implication of deliberate efforts to marginalize.Cultural narratives are often subconscious-social constructions of reality are not often critically examined by policymakers.

It IS quite deliberate, and for the reasons the author mentions. The education standards are used to maintain the status quo that privileges whites disproportionally. Just as few men have the sensitivity to examine their own sexism because misogyny is so entwined in culture, itself, few wish to examine the privileges that come with a dominant race defining what is of value and what can be measured and granted a fit score.

Did you read the concluding paragraphs? A pretty airtight case is made: