Home | About | Donate

Texas Mothers Jailed Five Days in Louisiana over Two Hot Dogs

Texas Mothers Jailed Five Days in Louisiana over Two Hot Dogs

Bill Quigley

Two Texas mothers, who police said had no criminal record, spent five days in a notorious Louisiana jail over charges they ate two hot dogs, milkshakes and an icee at a convenience store. The women were ordered held on $1500 dollar bond each despite the fact they had just voluntarily driven over 400 miles from Dallas to show up in court to contest the charges against them.

Just think what would have happened to them if they had done something really egregious like crash our economy or lied our country into an illegal war.

This is the type of shit that probably motivated Rev. Jeremiah Wright to proclaim "God Damn America."

I'm no expert, and I think we've all seen similar cases, but until these rampant municipal shakedown schemes, that deploy illegal and unconstitutional bail and debtor imprisonment, are met with systematic ABA disbarments and U.S. Justice Department prosecutions against these prosecutors and judges, there will be no broad based incentive for change at the municipal level, and these state sanctioned crimes against innocent citizens will persist indefinitely.

This looks like a shakedown for cash. Louisiana is one of those states that advocates low taxes in order to attract business. This leads to underfunded departments such as the Justice system. They than address these shortfalls via extortion from the poor.

The choice for many becomes pay a lawyer 2000$$ to fight your case in court or come down and fight it at your expense or just pay the town a fine