Home | About | Donate

Thawing Permafrost Emitting Higher Levels of Potent Greenhouse Gas Than Previously Thought: Study

Thawing Permafrost Emitting Higher Levels of Potent Greenhouse Gas Than Previously Thought: Study

Jessica Corbett, staff writer

As the Arctic enters an "unprecedented" state of warming, a new study shows that emissions of a potent greenhouse gas from thawing permafrost in the planet's northernmost region may be 12 times higher than previously thought.

3 Likes

‘Levels higher than previously thought’ may just well be the epitaph of our civilization.

16 Likes

OK lets party like there is no tomorrow. Yea Haw “we’re all gonna Die”

2 Likes

Beat me to it.

1 Like

As an Alaskan resident, I could not agree more! I have witnessed this firsthand for many years.

12 Likes

Here is the big problem. . we knew this 20 years ago.

10 Likes

and I think the Fossil fuel CEO’s knew it before that.

11 Likes

Yes and according to some reports, Exxon and the fossil fuel industries have been covering this up clear back to the 1970’s.

10 Likes

So now, all those scientists who absurdly but firmly asserted that “We have 12 years to turn this around” will publish a new letter saying “Oops, sorry, too late!”

Right?

6 Likes

And the great irony of this finding is that it is no laughing matter.

9 Likes

The old adage of ‘You don’t fool with Mother Nature’ was ignored and now we’re finding out she can bite back and has some mighty sharp teeth.

2 Likes

There were many who sounded the alarms years and even decades ago but were dismissed, silenced or as pointed out in the comments above complicit in the cover up of the catastrophic damage from burning fossil fuels.

Remember when Jason Box tried to speak the truth?

And Natalia Shakhova? I could go on . . . .