Home | About | Donate

The First Paris Massacre

The First Paris Massacre

Eric Margolis

Last week’s massacre in Paris was not, as almost every writer mistakenly claimed, the worst atrocity in the City Of Light since World War II.

As the renowned Mideast expert Robert Fisk quickly pointed out, an even worse atrocity occurred in Paris 54 years ago, on 17 October, 1961.

Thank you for the enlightening European history lesson, Mr. Margolis.

I was a very good student but my psyche turned off to history classes because then, as now, they just seemed like endless, redundant, recitations of war.

I have learned more about a truer telling of the historical narrative from reading Commondreams (that includes both official article authors and some of the more astute commenters) than from all of those classes. And of this matter (the bloody recent history of France), I didn't have a clue.

Until the fathers stop teaching their sons war and bragging about which wound they retained from which war... the Bible's admonishment will continue to prove history as prelude:

"The sins of the fathers are visited upon the sons."

The only way to heal or transcend Mars rules is by investing it its natural polarity and counterbalance, Venus.

Venus represents:

Good food
congeniality
Peace-making
Diplomacy
Compromise
Art
Architecture
Gardening
Non-industrial farming
Fashion
Beauty
Romance
Love... the greatest of these as the Prophets put it.

What is the point of 'explaining/rationalizing/justifying/excusing (?) why innocent Parisians were murdered by discussing 1961?

I think that it is vile to do so. The two events are not connected and if they are in some muddled mind then that person is a fool of violence and dangerous to be around.

It is as if someone started shooting after screaming out >>> "Don't you know that Cro Magnons pushed out Neanderthals by force! Remember the Neanderthals!!!)