Home | About | Donate

The Other One Percent

The Other One Percent

Ralph Nader

As a high school student, I came across an observation by Abraham Lincoln who said that “With public sentiment, nothing can fail; without it nothing can succeed.” Today “public sentiment” would be called “public opinion.”

Over the years, I have been astonished at how less than one percent of the citizenry, backed by the “public sentiment,” have changed our country for the better by enacting reforms to protect the people from abuses of power, discrimination and deep neglect.

I think Mr. Nader is a remarkable human being and true statesman AND public citizen. It's amazing how he never falters in his faith even though all those things women fought for ARE being rescinded through a new church-state medical field (as in private Catholic hospitals) alliance that blocks women's access to reproductive sovereignty. And Mr. Nader cites the progress made by The Black Community even while gerrymandering of voting districts gives right-wing Repugs a disproportionate influence of voting numbers and privileges. Then, too, there's the New Plantation System devised from today's Draconian prison-industrial complex. With so many persons of color caught up in prison, probation and parole, the strides MADE by the Black community are also fading away.

Mr. Nader still believes that 1% of active citizens will be able to topple the TPP and TIPP, trade deals designed to shut out public consent and awareness just as the Deep State shuts public awareness out of true international dynamics related to planned wars.