Home | About | Donate

The Scariest Thing about Brussels is Our Reaction To It

The Scariest Thing about Brussels is Our Reaction To It

Simon Jenkins

hink like the enemy. Let’s suppose I am an Islamic State terrorist. I don’t do bombs or bullets. I leave the dirty work to the crazies in the basement. My job is what happens next. It is to turn carnage into consequences, body parts into politics. I am a consultant terrorist. I wear a suit, not explosives. A blood-stained concourse is a means to an end. The end is power.

Good article. Kind of reminds me of the Shock Doctrine.

" The menace to the terror in Brussels lies not in the terror, but in the reaction to that terror. It is the reaction we should fear."

This post was flagged by the community and is temporarily hidden.

Reminds me of a very instructive Chinese saying:
"Plant melons, get melons.
Plant beans, get beans."

I'm surprised you term this a "great article" since it just repeats Official Narratives including the one pertaining to 911. Seems I recall that you are one of a handful of posters brave and brazen enough not to swallow that False Narrative. Since Simon Jenkins does, under the guise of telling everyone all this terrorism stuff is over-rated (and adding how it's being used by leaders, predictably, to curtain civil liberties), he's also reinforcing Official Narratives.

My guess is that when the majority of people leave the tv on, "for noise", their collective brain can't seperate this real lif happening from one of the cheap tv shows showing the fictional equivelant.... just more noise. To sit as I did Tuesday afternoon watching France 24 on the 'net as it provided a live feed from Brussels was hardly entertainment but objective journalism sadly missng here in this never ending "war on terror" driven US.