Home | About | Donate

The Summer of the Shill

The Summer of the Shill

Matt Taibbi

Years ago, when I was an exchange student in the Soviet Union, a Russian friend explained how he got his news.

"For news about Russia, Radio Liberty," he said. "For news about America, Soviet newspapers." He smiled. "Countries lie about themselves, tell truth about others."

So far 113 Republicans who've worked in government have said publicly they won't vote for the GOP nominee

I'm not particularly impressed with this piece by Mr. Taibbi (who can be bright, incisive and articulate at times)... mostly because of its reference to "both sides."

Quite a few C.D. posters "get it" that both sides of the aisle are mostly theater. When it comes to big business, state surveillance, war, and ecological exploitation, both parties play for the same corporate donors and thus enact very similar policies.

On social issues including the status of Blacks, the safety of the Black community, the status of women and their right to sovereignty over their own reproductive powers, and global warming (as a viable concern), the Democrats have BETTER positions.

But on anything related to foreign policy, there's not much daylight between these supposed teams since both obviously play for the same donors.

Mr. Taibbi spends more time articulating the seeming differences that make for great theater and/or passionate sport. In so doing, he leaves out the salient factor that Big Money owns both teams and the plays on the part of either reflect that loyalty.

Matt, Matt, Matt, you took the words out of my mouth. Everything you said about the media is spot on. If, while flipping through the channels, I happen to land on one of the Fox or MSM channels I mute it till I can move on.