Home | About | Donate

The Yemen Catastrophe: Beset by Contradictions of Will and Intellect

The Yemen Catastrophe: Beset by Contradictions of Will and Intellect

Richard Falk

Any attempt to provide a coherent account of the political strife afflicting Yemen is bound to fail. The country is crucible of contradictions that defy normal categories of rational analysis. If we look beyond the political fog that envelops the conflict the tragic circumstances of acute suffering imposed on the civilian population do emerge with stark clarity. Long before the outbreak of civil warfare, Yemen was known to be the poorest country in the region, faced with looming food and water scarcities.

This post was flagged by the community and is temporarily hidden.

Much of the world is awash in "media culture." When I studied screenwriting, I was taught that the key to a solid script is a simple story line. In it, usually a male would-be hero takes a journey, comes of age, or faces a challenge he must overcome. Opposing him is some enemy or oppositional force. As Robert Parry relentlessly informs, it is chiefly this type of storyline that drives so much of the mainstream media's narratives when it comes to foreign relations, foreign conflicts, and overall analyses of the general scheme of things.

As George Lakoff has painstakingly explained (nor is he alone in this field of endeavor), the human brain maps its own response networks and particular memes, words, and images trigger familiar, predictable reactions.