Home | About | Donate

This Political Family Has Been Fighting for Social Security and Medicare for All Since the 1930s

This Political Family Has Been Fighting for Social Security and Medicare for All Since the 1930s

Nancy J. Altman

Rep. Debbie Dingell (D-MI) is a leader in the fight to improve Medicare and expand it to cover everyone in America. With Rep. Pramila Jayapal (D-WA), she is one of the two lead sponsors of the Medicare for All Act of 2019, which was just introduced with more than 100 cosponsors. Dingell and Jayapal co-chair the Medicare for All caucus.

1 Like

I was wondering when expansion of benefits stopped. The same year I graduated high school, 1972. Since the 80’s the idiots in Congress have wanted to reduce the benefits. Even now they want to “privatize” this ‘social system’. This is all part of the neo-liberal economic system designed to extract ‘wealth’ from private citizenry. It’s high time for a universal health care enactment guarantying paid access to any and all healthcare issues, from birth 'till death. Anything less is unacceptable.

3 Likes

Hi Olhippy: well the things to do is to make sure those in Congress who are against Medicare for AlL—that those people are voted out of Congress. Then , if they haven’t served very long—imagine how hard they will work for Medicare for All— as just plain citizens don’t do as well. When you stay a long time in Congress—you pretty much receive great retirement benefits-----------maybe all congressional terms should have limits—otherwise it seems that many elected start feeling like entitled lords and ladies. : )

I LOVE it!