Home | About | Donate

'Travesty': Nestlé Outbids Another Town for Control of Its Water Supply

'Travesty': Nestlé Outbids Another Town for Control of Its Water Supply

Nadia Prupis, staff writer

Corporate giant Nestlé continued its privatization creep on Thursday as it won approval to take over another Canadian community's water supply, claiming it needed the well to ensure "future business growth."

The corporations will privatize everything for the sake of profit.
Every Republican and far too many Democrats will allow them to do it.
They'll explain to us dumb, low educated, slobs that the Capitalist economic system requires privatization to create "free markets" and competition.
That's a load of rubbish. And a big, fat lie.

I have been boycotting Nestle for 25 years -- ever since they pushed the baby formula thing in countries with bad water. They do not care of course -- about me or the babies they killed or stealing water. They have no ethics.

Me too.

There's no excuse for the boom in corporate bottled water sales. It's worse than a simple wasted of money. Discarded plastic water bottles are eternal waste and a worldwide menace. Consumers must demand that their local governments provide drinkable tap water. The tap water in my area is great but people here still buy lots of bottled water! I don't understand the psychology of that! If your local government is broken and won't/can't provide pure drinking water you can buy water for your home in reusable 5 gallon bottles and carry a canteen when you go out. The many home filtering systems may also be a good solution, but I don't know first-hand.

Isn't there some law that makes clear that water only belongs to the people/
government? How is this happening?