Home | About | Donate

Trudeau Is Less Liberal Than You Think

Trudeau Is Less Liberal Than You Think

Naomi Klein, Avi Lewis

Our inboxes runneth over with congratulations from American friends. “Pleasure to be able to look north without wincing,” “we’re all thrilled to have regained our sensible neighbors to the north,” “Goodbye Stephen ‘Keystone XL’ Harper.” And then there was this from England: “you now officially have the hottest Prime Minister EVER!”

You might be right here CTS, but the gist of the article was about Trudeau, not Obama. I believe Naomi Klein was simply being gracious with her comment about Obama. She didn't want to go into depth and detail about the in's and out's of Obama's presidency, etc. Just a guess. What about her comments concerning renewables? Any insights?

I always enjoy reading Naomi Klein. Her thinking, translated into writing, clarifies so many issues.

I'm not an expert on the subject of renewables by any means. But my thinking is, won't it be necessary to use a huge amount of fossil fuels in order to create all the workable parts for a new infrastructure that utilizes clean energy? If this is not started right now...there may not be time in the coming years to accomplish it.

The trick will be how to get Big Oil to switch sides. After all, they will not let go of their huge profit making endeavor without a fair replacement. This of course means, renewables may not be that inexpensive once the fossil fuel guys get their hands on it.

Also, I suspected Trudeau was not an angel. Ms. Klein is right. Pressure from below will be a necessary motivator under Justin Trudeau's oil soaked butt.

There are no leaders who will save us. There is only leadership. All that Naomi says is true and a Leap Manifesto is important but the only thing that we need is for ordinary people to talk and walk with their neighbors and demand the politicians do the right thing about the destabilization of the climate.