Home | About | Donate

Trump Is Not Alone Among Americans In Failing to Understand What A Real Lynching Is

Originally published at http://www.commondreams.org/views/2019/10/29/trump-not-alone-among-americans-failing-understand-what-real-lynching

2 Likes

The photograph is from the Equal Justice Initiative Museum and Memorial in Montgomery, Alabama (https://museumandmemorial.eji.org). It is a very moving place and I highly recommend visiting it should one be in the area. I am truly shamed by the lengths of names that adorn the markers representing the various counties in which I have lived despite the fact that I had nothing to do with the crimes. The pall still hangs in the air and in the hearts of far too many.

1 Like

Trump has always accused his opponents of actions that he perpetrated and they never did. When I studied rhetoric in college a half century ago academics labeled this tactic “projection”.

Projection is especially easy to get away with in Murka where the art of blaming the victim while rewarding the perpetrator was refined decades ago.

Trump’s dream is to become dictator for life, at which point is marks (media calls them his base) will be encouraged to lynch people. He needs to start blaming others for lynching today so he will have the upper hand in fostering a lynching culture.

2 Likes