Home | About | Donate

TTrying to Survive in a Broken Economy (Confessions of a McDonald's Employee)

TTrying to Survive in a Broken Economy (Confessions of a McDonald's Employee)

John D’Amanda Jr.

My name is John D’Amanda, and I have been a loyal employee at a McDonald’s in Oakland, California for five years. Prior to working in fast food, I was a small business owner like millions of Americans. I made good money washing windows for houses, stores, malls, and contractors in the San Francisco/Alameda/Contra Costa counties area. But when the economy tanked, my business went with it as people tightened their belts and stopped hiring window washers. I lost many customers, struggled to pay my bills, and was eventually evicted from my apartment.

Its not "a broken economy", its an economy FIXED in favor of the 1% at the expense of the 99%.

The Creature From Jekyll Island by G. Edward Griffin

Back in I believe 1973 an academic at Harvard wrote a piece about what was happening to the American economy then and what would happen as the century came to a close. Sorry I don't have his name, but the essence was that structurally we began having problems right about that time which nobody was really talking about-production, labor costs, capital, etc. Move up to 1980, people began to sense some plan was going to be needed. In steps Reagan, with a plan that was only a means to take advantage of weakness and drain the life out of the wealth built after WWII. This included trying to dismantle the New Deal.