Home | About | Donate

Washington’s War on Poor Grad Students

Washington’s War on Poor Grad Students

Jill Richardson

Imagine having to pay thousands of dollars of taxes on virtually no income.

How else will the billionaires pay for the cost of their private jets? We have to have some sort of balance going there–you give with one hand, you take away with the other. BTW–not every PhD student gets tuition waivers or part-time jobs at the university. I had to pay tuition, get loans, AND hold a job off campus. Maybe fortunately for me, I just graduated, before the zombies in Congress put this death-plan into place…

Excellent article Thank you.

Same with me…when I was a graduate student, working on my PsyD, I had to work part-time, maintain my household (because I was an older student), plus do practicum work for free…no stipend of any kind. I’m drowning in school loan debt. The future for our kids and even for adults who want to go back to school, like I did, is looking dismal. Why would our government wish to have a bunch of dummies instead of well educated citizens…well…I guess I can answer that one…zombies all…or sheep…or whatever.

It is easy to understand. The .01% want only well educated, motivated, bright and educated working on Wall Street since that is the only place people with advanced degrees can make enough to pay off their debt. In the process, of course, the will become minions and mercenaries of the .01% and are less likely to educate or lead a revolt of the masses. An insidious and brilliant if evil
policy that has been on going for over a hundred years.,

“Gut graduate education in America and you’ll gut education as a whole.”

Gutting education IS the goal. That is why DeVoid is Secretary of Education. There are probably few things more frightening to the oligarchy than a liberally educated population.