Home | About | Donate

'We Can't Wait Any Longer': Activist Removes Confederate Flag from SC Statehouse

Bree,

As a Marine Vietnam Veteran, I honor your courage. Treasure Life = Organize We The People.

Semper Fidelis,

David DeChant
Jarhead Clan
Combat Intelligence
Assigned to Scouts

It's about time! It shouldn't have ever been there to start with. Over 500K Union soldiers died to see that flag taken down and it's presence anywhere on American soil is an act of overt Rebellion and Treason. It's time to stop tolerating it and the ugly reality it represents.

Good for Bree. Bigots exist but NOTHING should compel people of good will to tolerate them. Time to organize flag burning ceremonies.

Perhaps our world is starting to turn a corner....Just a few days, in 1941, after the Nazis occupied Greece, a teenager by the name of Manolis Glezos climbed up a flagpole set on the Acropolis with a Nazi flag on top. He took down the hated banner, while German officers confidently sat toasting each other about their victory. Outraged, the Germans announced that they would find the culprit. But the culprit found them, instead. The very next night he once again took the flag down. His action did not end the occupation but it helped to build the energies of resistance. Years later, as the Syriza party was campaigning in the streets, Manolis Glezos appeared in the crowd, speaking out for freedom for Greeks from the masters of European finance. Yes, these issues always take time to get straightened out but personal integrity and bravery provide the fuel to keep things moving ion the right direction.

Matt Heins: As symbols, battle flags are always something more than mere signalling devices. Those who went to war on behalf of the Confederacy surely regarded the flag as expressive of their cause. For them, the flag was an affective, meaningful statement of values worth dying for.