Home | About | Donate

'We Had No Choice': Oglala Sioux Join Legal Fray Against DAPL


#1

'We Had No Choice': Oglala Sioux Join Legal Fray Against DAPL

Nadia Prupis, staff writer

The Oglala Sioux have joined the legal battle against the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers, filing a lawsuit this week calling on the agency to halt construction of the Dakota Access Pipeline (DAPL) until an environmental review can be completed.


#2

"Kelcy Warren, CEO of DAPL'S parent company ETP has previously referred to water protectors and other opponents of the pipeline as...TERRORISTS."

That statement is one only a man of insane greed that is completely insouciant to the water protectors could make!

Mr. Warren and his fellow ETP PARTNERS ARE THE REAL ENVIRONMENTAL TERRORISTS, BECAUSE THEIR RAISON D' ETRE IS FOR ONE THING AND ONE THING ONLY: WE ARE ONLY HAPPY IF WE HAVE MORE $$$$$$ NO MATTER HOW MUCH SUFFERING IT CAUSES THE INDIGENOUS PEOPLE!


#3

From Injustice boycott:

Call or email the following CEOs and corporate contacts. Respectfully ask them why they are funding the Dakota Access Pipeline and ask them to terminate their contract immediately. Start with your bank, mention how long you’ve been a customer, and state why you’re prepared to switch banks. And don’t be discouraged if you receive a “canned” response. This is in fact great news. Prepared responses means we are shaking things up and need to keep calling.

Wells Fargo

CEO:

Timothy Sloan - (866) 249-3302

timothy.j.sloan@wellsfargo.com

J.P. MorganChase

Chairman and CEO:

Jamie Dimon - (212) 270-1111

jamie.dimon@jpmchase.com

Vice President, Corporate Media Relations:

Jennifer Lavoie - jennifer.h.lavoie@jpmchase.com

Managing Director, Corporate Communications:

Andrew Gray - andrew.s.gray@jpmchase.com

Global Head, Marketing & Communications:

Brian Marchiony - brian.j.marchiony@jpmorgan.com

Bank of America

President, CEO, and Chairman:

Brian Moynihan - (704) 386-5681

brian.t.moynihan@bankofamerica.com

Executive Relations, Office of the CEO:

Matthew Task - (813) 805-4873

CitiBank

CEO

Michael Corbat - (212) 293-2900

Michael.L.Corbat@citi.com

Citizens Bank

Chairman and CEO:

Bruce Van Saun - (401) 456-7000

Senior Vice President, Head of Media Relations:

Peter Lucht - (781) 655-2289

Peter.Lucht@citizensbank.com

Vice President, Media Relations:

Lauren DiGeronimo - (781) 471-1454

Lauren.Digeronimo@citizensbank.com

U.S. Bank

Chairman and CEO:

Richard K. Davis - (651) 466-3000

richard.davis@usbank.com

Senior Vice President of Corporate Communications:

Dana Ripley - (612) 303-3167

dana.ripley@usbank.com

Vice President, External Communications

Susan Beatty - (612) 303-9229

susan.beatty@usbank.com


Wednesday’s victory was a clear sign that we can do this. Shortly after Seattle’s historic $3 billion vote, Davis, CA took similar action and voted to leave Wells Fargo, moving $124 million to an ethically responsible bank.

Our plan is working and our voices are starting to be heard. Let’s not give up now.

THANK YOU!


#5

Let's be honest about the white privilege for once. You take over public land in Oregon claiming it is your own, armed to the teeth, bragging about on every news source and what happens? Nothing. (Hell, the DEA have shot people point blank for thinking a bong was a gun, but not even a show of force there?)

Now, let us just imagine "what would have happened had these protesters been armed to the teeth?" That didn't take long, did it?


#6

I dunno, but it seems to me the basis for a suit would be the termination of the Corps' EIS process - the fact that they started it would indicate they thought it justified - and their termination of it was based on what - "we changed our mind"?


#7

The current nerve-shattering and the palpably-nauseating chaos that we read every efin' day, it seems, is making me sick. These creeps, the new occupants of the Oval Office, actually want martial law. WTF? This is insane. We will not fall for it. We will outwit these machine-like lost souls, whose violent, reactionary and disgraceful actions are turning our country into a "shit storm". I agree with Jeremy Scahill in an audio post at The Intercept - https://theintercept.com/2017/02/15/intercepted-podcast-we-are-all-in-trumps-hunger-games-now/