Home | About | Donate

We Know Protests Work. So Why Aren’t We Protesting?

We Know Protests Work. So Why Aren’t We Protesting?

Anthea Butler

As I watched the massive protests of President Donald Trump and his policies in London during his visit earlier this month, I couldn’t help but hope that London’s fierce, festive display of resistance would remind Americans that this is no time to feel weary.

Americans are content with watching others protest.

Most lack the desire to speak their values.

Sustained Protests like occupy will never happen again.

The Democratic Party does not do populism. They are supposed to be the opposition… [crickets]

I would question the claim that protests work to any great degree, any more. I’ve been protesting for nearly 50 years, starting with the Vietnam War and all wars since. I’ve protested for women’s rights, against global warming and other environmental issues. I’ve protested against racism and more. Now we have a Trump, endless war, racism on the rise, even more war and military spending and runaway global warming with little more than talks as a solution and I’m living to see women’s rights under attack like never, before. Not much to show for almost 50 years of protest.