Home | About | Donate

We Must End For-Profit Prisons

We Must End For-Profit Prisons

Bernie Sanders

The United States is experiencing a major human tragedy. We have more people in jail than any other country on earth, including Communist China, an authoritarian country four times our size. The U.S. has less than five percent of the world's population, yet we incarcerate about a quarter of its prisoners -- some 2.2 million people.

Let's also remove profits from PUBLIC education, health care, national DEFENSE, utilities, etc.

I studied the unintended distortions created by communist central planners when I was a young graduate student back in the 1960's.

Corporatism in the US exhibits very similar glitches to centrally planned communism in the old Russian controlled soviet union.

Write on Bernie! Thank you.

We must UN-privatize everything. Public schools, healthcare, prisons, utilities, and most of all our system of justice. You only get justice in this country if you have the money to pay for it.

To state the bloody obvious, all for-profit operations prioritise profits over the job they would ideally be doing. It is an inherently corrupt paradigm.

Unregulated capitalism must be stopped. Banksters also must be jailed and broken up.

Thanks for sharing the link. We the people of US are like the 50's and 60's Russia, no free press when it is in the hands of the oligarchs. Who do we believe?

Yes. So many people with stalled lives, or worse, because we have the feed the corporate "people." Thank you, Bernie. Maybe if we can get you and some like-minded congress critters in, we can actually do this!