Home | About | Donate

We Won: ACLU Wins Stay On Refugee Ban

We Won: ACLU Wins Stay On Refugee Ban

A federal judge in Brooklyn granted a temporary, emergency, national stay late Saturday blocking Trump's grotesque effort to ban Muslim refugees after the American Civil Liberties Union - God love 'em - filed a class action lawsuit amidst widespread outrage and airport protests. The ACLU announced the victory on Twitter with, "We won." From a supporter: "You are heroes." Details and ramifications to come.

I have been holding my breath since January 20 2017. On January 28 all day I couldn't catch my breath. With this article, I have taken my first deep chest breath in a week. Thank you ACLU.

I'm afraid it seems to be only blocking the deportation of those currently detained at ports of entry. But it is a start.

It is a start and an important one for the world. Allies have to know that we aren't crazy, that there are still checks on the president. Hell, I gotta know that myself.

I was actually wondering, if there were any checks for this lunatic. Now it will be interesting to know, if he will pursue this to the SCOTUS and if that court will preserve some of the country's judicial integrity, even though it will be soon GOP dominated, after the Dems. cave in to Trump's nomination as they do now with his cabinet nominations.

We learn, that Trump, while outwardly dismissing the Women's March as insignificant, he had fits about people not "recognizing his greatness" behind the scenes.

Boy i'd sure like to witness the tantrum he is throwing after a court all but nixed his executive order. LOL