Home | About | Donate

What Europe’s Hopeful Left Can Learn from Latin America

I have little direct experience with other South American countries, but I have lived in Ecuador for 6 months. Talking with Ecuadorians about social and economic issues, most feel the country is headed in the right direction. I have yet to see a person pushing a shopping cart while talking to the Universe and I have seen few panhandlers. I wish I could say the same of the US. There is infrastructure building going on everywhere I look. The government is spending dollars into the economy. Dollars that it is creating without interest and so not creating much public debt. The petro dollars and yuan are used for international trade to import things not available in Ecuador. The import tariffs are high to encourage domestic production just like the US did before the neo cons took over. Correa and the government are able to do this without antagonizing the moneyed elite because he is giving them investments like 7.95% bonds where they can make lots of money. It doesn't matter what the interest rate is because the central bank can create the dollars to pay the interest without taxing anybody. The system they have created is brilliant and so far has flown under the radar of the parasites on Wall Street and the City of London. Taking the dollar for its currency was an effective way to avoid attack on their currency. The parasites can't attack the dollar. That is where they hold most of their assets. Attack on the Sucre was what caused the 1999 collapse. The author it must be noted is based in the heart of the beast in the UK and seems to parrot much of the talking points and even refers to articles from the Economist, that independent and unbiased source of info.